Independence Day is Upon Us!

As I sit here listen to the local golden oldies radio station, I realize that there’s like a week left until the 4th of July (my favorite holiday).  When I was probably 8 I started taking the 4th very seriously.  I would paint my nails red white and blue, I found the most patriotic thing in my closet, which I planned out weeks in advanced, one year I made red, white, and blue cupcakes.  And because I am a creature of tradition, I have continued my festive ways ever since.

So with the upcoming holiday weekend and being half way through my planning, here are some wonderful Pinterest activities, mostly involving food (b/c what is the 4th of July without food?), that I have found and plan on trying with you, to amp up your 4th of July to the next level.

1.) Wit & Whistle’s Cookie Cutter Fruit Salad

How can you not have fruit salad on the 4th of July? And how have I never taken cookie cutters to the watermelon in my fruit salad?

Screen Shot 2016-06-24 at 9.36.09 AM

http://witandwhistle.com/2011/07/05/cookie-cutter-fruit-salad/

2.) Blahnik Baker’s Patriotic Angel Food Cake

WHAT a classic.  This is one of my favorites, but this year I’m trying the twist that Blahnik Baker put on it.  The highly anticipated (mostly by myself) coconut cream!

Screen Shot 2016-06-24 at 9.41.28 AM.png

http://blahnikbaker.com/angel-food-cake-with-coconut-whipped-cream-and-berries/

3.) Today’s Creative Life’s Fruit Filled Ice Cubes

Fruit infusion seems to be all of the rave these days, and I’m not complaining because it’ll be a great way to spice up my sun tea on the 4th.

Screen Shot 2016-06-24 at 9.51.53 AM.png

http://todayscreativelife.com/fruit-filled-ice-cubes/

4.) Back to the Book Nutrition’s Coconut Water Popsicles

Similar to the ice cubes, but larger and on a stick..  I don’t know why but I love pinning homemade popsicles but I never

Screen Shot 2016-06-24 at 9.54.46 AM.png
http://www.backtothebooknutrition.com/coconut-water-fresh-berry-popsicles-4th-of-july/#_a5y_p=3982780

So that’s all for now, folks!  It’s a pretty short list, however I can ~reasonably~ complete all of these.  If you’re looking for more fun activities, outfit ideas, and more, head on over to my Red, White, and Blue Pinterest board!

 

Again, I’ll try some of these and report bad to you!

Best,

Elin

Leave a Reply

